How to understand who your target audience is to focus on creating content that is interesting to them

How to understand who your target audience is to focus on creating content that is interesting to them

I was asked this question recently by our gorgeous ERP Product Manager. Here goes my take on a list of questions to ask yourself to create such an understanding:

  • What do I want to talk about? Just the core topic, for example, frontend development or public speaking.

  • Who do I want to be for my audience? An expert in the subject? A friendly neighbor with the same troubles with the topic? A consultant on the subject? Someone who brings the news about it with better quality than any newsletter?

  • What topics do I want to talk about? If your main topic is public speaking, here goes, for example, such sub-topics as acting, articulation, and presentation.

  • What specialization and level of expertise might be interested in these topics? If you want to create content about frontend development, how skilled would be someone interested in your opinion on it? Or with public speaking: would you like to talk with an audience that never really tried and support them within the first steps or help to improve those who speak a lot from the stage?

  • Why specifically would they be interested? What pain points will my content address? Will you help with instruments, cases, examples, and some exercises to improve your audience level? Or do you want to keep them informed about the latest trends and best practices?

That’s a lot to think about, but the more specific you are with these questions for yourself, the easier it will be to secure the answers to deliver content consistently.

A few years ago, I answered similar questions for myself when I started talking about the labor market in IT and the first employment for people changing professions. This led me to get my first projects and then a full-time job because of focused content pretty soon. I hope it will help someone who needs these questions too.